Welcome to 2016

I haven’t posted here in ages. I was going to just post about everything on my Librariandoa blog, but then I saw I still had this bookmarked, found the login, and voila! Let’s get started!

I’m currently reading A Box of Gargoyles by Anne Nesbet. It’s a sequel to a Cabinet of Earths. Maya and her Bulgarian friend Valko try to escape the clutches of a sorcerer they thought they’d killed in the last book. The Paris setting is a charm, as are Maya’s family. Dad the bumbling scientist. Mom, ill with cancer and now perhaps something else. Her little brother James who makes everyone laugh. Cousin Louise, who used to be virtually invisible, now drives a daring car, dresses to the hilt, and acts mysterious all of the time.

box of gargoyles

I’m also nearly up to date reading the Agent Pendergast novels by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. Each one is better than the last. One took place on a cruise ship and I didn’t think that could be beat, then I started the next jaw dropper. I’ve just started Two Graves, the third novel that features the mystery of Pendergast’s wife Helen. Three more after this one, and I’l be able to crack open the latest adventure Crimson Shore. It arrived for me in early November, but I’ve wanted to read the rest of the series first.

two graves

The incredible Ellen Wittlinger has a new novel coming out in June 2016 called Local Girl Swept Away.

local girl swept away

She describes it: A girl walking out on the breakwater in Provincetown with her 3 close friends during a bad storm is suddenly missing, presumably swept off by the wind and carried away by the tide. How could it happen? What will they do now without Lorna, their leader?

I love the cover and title. It sounds as if it were right out of the headlines.

11 of the best modern sci-fi authors to read this Science Fiction Day, an article George Lindsay-Watson is great for keeping up on newer science fiction authors. I have my vast list of classic writers, but I’d love to read the best of the new folk too.

science fiction day 2016

Not a book, but based on a series is MTV’s The Shannara Chronicles. Bizarrely I’ve had the Sword of Shannara since college and haven’t read it. I think I had just read Lord of the Rings and it was advertised on the cover as being in the tradition of or something. I read a little and it was not at all like Tolkien, and you know how it is when you read something wonderful, for a bit nothing else pleases you. That said, I liked the ideas of the Chronicles of Shannara, and the worldbuilding, but much of the acting seemed vacuous. I’ll keep watching anyway.

shanarra

Coming in April: The Murder of Mary Russell by Laurie R. King I’m sure the title by this brilliant author is sleight of hand of some sort. Mary must never die!

murder of Mary Russell

From the Barnes and Noble Science Fiction/Fantasy Blog, a fun list of new releases. New Book Roundup: Star Wars Secrets, Airship Heists, and Bad Mojo in Brooklyn

B and N Sci Fi Fantasy Blog

I’ll ambitiously try to post once a week. Can it be done? Maybe.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

