BookNotes March 30, 2020

 

From the Guardian, a list of the best new picture books and novels.

https://www.theguardian.com/books/2020/mar/28/childrens-books-roundup-the-best-new-picture-books-and-novels

 

From CrimeReads, a look at Penny Dreadfuls

Why Penny Dreadfuls Scandalized Victorian Society—But Flew off the Shelves

 

White Rabbit Books continues their Six Word Short Story pictures:

 

 

From the Internet Archive blog, the fantasy books that inspired Gary Gaygax to create Dungeons and Dragons.  There are some fantastic books on the list, many of which I have read.

 

The Fantasy Books that Inspired Dungeons & Dragons

 

 

While there are too many to note, if you’ve a favorite author, check their Facebook page.  Many are using Facebook live to read aloud from their books.  It’s quite an opportunity to enjoy a live reading from these folks.

 

About merlynperilous

I spent most of my career as a Young Adult Librarian, then became the Adult Fiction person at my branch to finish things off. Now I read whatever I want, and never think about what I should be reading. This is my blog for bookish things. All other topics are covered at my Librariandoa blog.
This entry was posted in Book Notes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.