Book Notes August 9, 2021

I came across a blog called Davy Crockett’s Almanack of Mystery, Adventure and The Wild West. What an interesting combination of old movie and magazine covers and more.

http://davycrockettsalmanack.blogspot.com


A podcast of interest is Shedunnit described in its About page as a storytelling podcast. The episodes appear to be interviews, though. It includes a recent one with Maureen Johnson, author of the Truly Devious series, which I love.

Welcome

A sunny day, a meadow and a pile of books.


So casual, it appears, from the author’s point of view.


Another podcast I keep meaning to listen to is the Currently Reading Podcast, which covers a wide range of books and genres.

https://www.currentlyreadingpodcast.com

The sequel you’ve been waiting for:

Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar books are being considered for television adaptation.

Wheel of Time’s Producer Wants to Adapt Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar Universe Next

Rick Riordan has an upcoming novel based on Verne’s 20000 Leagues Under the Sea that looks very interesting.

From Modern Mrs Darcy, 20 upcoming screen adaptations of books. This is just a great varied list.

From Australian site Readings, nine mysteries for August.

https://www.readings.com.au/news/the-best-new-crime-reads-in-august-2

I need to do a separate post on this question, because in the last year or so I’ve found so many great new authors to read. New to me as favorites, that is.

Just a few, in this hour after midnight:

Stuart Turton

Deanna Raybourn

Sherry Thomas

Simone St. James

S A Chakraborty

Kate Milford

Charles Todd

James R Benn

Leigh Bardugo

Agatha Christie

Maureen Johnson

Ann Leckie

James S A Corey

Margaret Peterson Haddix

So many more! List incoming 🙂

About merlynperilous

I spent most of my career as a Young Adult Librarian, then became the Adult Fiction person at my branch to finish things off. Now I read whatever I want, and never think about what I should be reading. This is my blog for bookish things. All other topics are covered at my Librariandoa blog.
This entry was posted in Book Notes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.