The Cozy Owlet’s Favorites of 2023

I’d never heard of the Cozy Owlet before today. The page just floated by on my FB timeline as reading sites do. Somehow I found myself reading her list of favorite books from 2023. I’ve looked at a lot of best books of 2023 but this one included four books I own already, and some others I had considered at one time or another during the year. The others looked good too!

I may have found a really good place to find books I’d like!

I have these from the list:

Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers by Jesse Q Sutanto

The Last Devil to Die by Richard Osman

The Adventures of Amina Al-Serif by Shannon Chakraborty

The Mysterious Case of the Alperton Angels by Janice Hallett

I ended up ordering:

Emily Wilde’s Encyclopedia of Faeries and it’s soon to be published sequel Map of the Otherlands.

Grave Expectations by Alice Bell

Though I’ve never wanted to do such a thing (wink), I went for Murder Your Employer by Rupert Holmes, having considered it for a while (the book, not murder…).

Has there ever been a book with such mixed love/hate reviews (often in the same review) as for West Heart Kill by Dann McDorman? I hesitated, then went for it.

If you’re counting, you’ll see I ordered everything I didn’t have except for Agatha Christie’s A Caribbean Mystery. It’s a Jane Marple mystery, and I only like Poirot.

On the one hand, I can’t wait to read more book recommendations from the Owlet, on the other, my book budget runneth over already. What a fine start to the reading year.

About merlynperilous

I spent most of my career as a Young Adult Librarian, then became the Adult Fiction person at my branch to finish things off. Now I read whatever I want, and never think about what I should be reading. This is my blog for bookish things. All other topics are covered at my Librariandoa blog.
This entry was posted in Book Blogs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cozy Owlet’s Favorites of 2023

  1. Hello! I’m so glad you found my blog and would love to hear what you think of the books!

Comments are closed.